Rip Curl Represents in 2012 SURFER Poll Awards


For the third year running, the best surfers, filmmakers, and who’s who of the surf world have converged at Turtle Bay on the North Shore of Oahu for the Biggest Night is Surfing. This year, for the the 42nd annual SURFER Poll Awards, it was Gabriel Medina, Alana Blanchard, Owen Wright, and Mick Fanning who took to the stage from the Rip Curl crew.


A veteran of the Poll, this year marked Kelly Slater’s 18th SURFER Poll No. 1 Award. He first took the honor in 1993 when he was just 21 years old. However, Gabriel Medina debuted in the top 10 at #4, Mick Fanning finished a beyond respectable #5, and Owen Wright rounded out the elite finishers at #10.


Making his SURFER Poll debut this year, Gabriel Medina became the first Brazilian to break the Top 10 on the coveted Poll. He also secured the distinguished AI Breakthrough Performer Presented by New Era award for 2012.


On the Women’s side of the Poll, the Top 5 from 2011 all remained on the list, with Alana Blanchard jumping up into the second position behind Stephanie Gilmore, who reclaimed the top spot for her third SURFER Poll victory.



Top 10 Men

  • 1. Kelly Slater
  • 2. John John Florence
  • 3. Dane Reynolds
  • 4. Gabriel Medina
  • 5. Mick Fanning
  • 6. Joel Parkinson
  • 7. Julian Wilson
  • 8. Taj Burow
  • 9. Jordy Smith
  • 10. Owen Wright

Top 5 Women

  • 1. Steph Gilmore
  • 2. Alana Blanchard
  • 3. Coco Ho
  • 4. Carissa Moore
  • 5. Sally Fitzgibbons

AI Breakthrough Performer Presented by New Era

Gabriel Medina

Movie of the Year

Dear Suburbia by Kai Neville

Best Performance

Dane Reynolds, Dear Suburbia

Heavy Water

Shane Dorian

Best Barrel

Reef McIntosh, Fiji Freight Trains

Worst Wipeout

Mark Mathews, Fighting Fear

Short of the Year

Electric Blue Heaven, by Joe G

Agent of Change

Jack Shimko and Paddle2Live


Rip Curl E-Mail

Get the latest news, events &
promotions from Rip Curl

Sign Up
USA Store Locator

Rip Curl Store Locator